Continuing with our introduction to Google Adwords for all small to medium range businesses, in the second part our web development team investigate Adword Budget control and sending along with successful tips for small business beginners….
Selecting your Daily Budget
So once you have selected a campaign that perfectly works for you, the next step is deciding on how much you want to spend on a daily basis. Much like planning a holiday trip away, with Google Adwords you will also need to set a budget of how much you want to spend on both a daily and monthly basis. With Adwords, users can set daily budgets for each campaign with the flexibility to adjust them at any time.
Once you have decided on the amount you want to spend, you will then bid on how much you are willing to pay for each click on your ad by submitting a “bid”. Let’s say for example you have set yourself a budget of £20 per day, if you are targeting 100 clicks per day, you will set a maximum cost-per-click bid (Also known as Max CPC) of £0.20 to state that’s the highest amount that you are willing to pay for each click. Once your daily budget has been reached, your ad will simply fall off the search engines and stop showing for that day. Google Adwords will also guide you on the max. cost-per-click value as the more you pay per click the higher up the Adwords listings you will appear.
Is it successful for smaller businesses?
1. Target your location
Adwords cleverly allows you to select the locations where you want your ad to be shown. For each campaign, users can select locations such as entire countries, regions or cities within a particular country or even a town or county such as Cheshire to cater to every size company from the multi-million corporations to local web-development agencies so you are not wasting your budget on potential customers who will never see you.
Adwords can also suggest related locations on areas where you’ll find the right customers and hopefully increase your profits as a result. For more information on Location Targeting, please Click Here
2. Customer can access vital information instantly
When you usually search for a specific set of keywords, you usually find advertisements either at the top or on the right hand side right? Well sometimes you will also see additional information such as quick contract information or text highlighted in blue, well that is courtesy of Google Ad Extensions. An ad extension is a completely free extension that will not cost anything more that what you are already paying.
Ad Extensions allow businesses to tailor campaigns by adding more personal information such as phone numbers, address, contact information such as postcode or telephone numbers and usually a hyperlink to either a landing page or to the products or services (usually the blue text). By including instant information, you are far more likely to gain potential customers if they can gain information from a click of a button. From a survey conducted in 2013, statistics prove that 70% of mobile searchers that call a business come directly from a Google search
In conjunction with accessing information instantly, by synchronizing Google Places with Google Adwords, you can now show a map along with an image of your business/building. Again the easier you make it for your customers to find you, the more chance you have of turning these clicks into customers.
3. Control your own budget
One of the key features in Google Adwords is that you can stay in control of your budget at all times. Regardless of business size, once you have set your budget for your campaign, you can easily change the budget at any time. If you see that your ad is performing really well, you can increase your results on search engines by increasing your ad spend.
4. Measure results instantly
Regardless of how many campaigns you may have, you can always know exactly how many visitors came to your website instantly. Using the Adwords interface, users can measure the amount of hits generated from each campaign to calculate the number of impressions, enquiries and costs per customer to see if your return on investment is working for you. With so much data accessible at a click of the mouse, users can instantly make changes to make sure PPC works to suit your budget.
The top 10 UK’s biggest Google Adwords spenders
Following a study conducted by social analytics software giant Searchmetrics in 2013; we are able to provide statistics to see who exactly the biggest Google Adwords spenders inside the UK are. As you can see the list is dominated by retail, price comparison and travel brands…
- amazon.co.uk
- ask.com
- booking.com
- ebay.co.uk
- johnlewis.com
- supaprice.co.uk
- moneysupermarket.com
- virginmedia.com
- marksandspencer.com
- argos.co.uk
For more information on Google Adwords or for advice on choosing the right campaign, exploring alternative advertising strategies to maximise your business, or how to make your website SEO friendly, why not get in touch with your local web performance experts? Call JJ Wemyss on 01565 653616 or email jj@untitledtm.com for a chat.